I'm brand new to Unity, and even newer to the ORK framework. The tutorials are quite awesome, but as I'm working through them, I have noticed some minor issues. Here are the workarounds I've used that deviate from the tutorials slightly:

Tutorial 21: Battle Events 1

Problem: The enemy character would correctly move to target, attack, and move back to base. As soon as my character attacked, he would correctly move to target, and nothing else would happen (no damage, no attack, nothing).

Solution: As GIL pointed out, my box radius was not correctly set. Setting it to 1 for Brown Pants fixed the issue!

Tutorial 23: Battle start events

Problem: In the first encounter, the camera would do the crazy zoom, but then be completely stuck and wouldn't reset to the battle view camera.

My workaround: In the simpleStart event, the wait node just after the change camera position node has a wait value of 0.5. Changing this value to 1 corrects the issue and the camera now does what it's supposed to.

Tutorial 26: Displaying equipment

Problem: No characters display any of the weapons in their hands.
Tutorial text has been corrected!

Tutorial 27: A Simple HUD

Problem: This results in a StackOverflowException: The requested operation caused a stack overflow. ORKFramework.StatusValue.GetMinValue () in the console. This seems to happens in Status Element 1 with List enabled and Use Bar enabled. If these two settings are enabled, and you click on the Open in GUI Editor button, it crashes Unity.

Solution: In Status Values I had accidentally set MP to have a Max Status Value of MP. This caused the issues above, so if you are crashing Unity or getting these exceptions in the console, you may want to check the max values for consumable statuses!

It could be that I'm half retarded and missed something else entirely, but in case any else runs into these issues, hopefully the above works for them too!
Post edited by kuolema on
  • edited March 2014