Hi Everybody, I've been a long-term lurker for a couple of years, and thought I'd say hello, and I'm asking for some advice please.

I'm looking to bridge between ORK and Ootii Frameworks. From what I read on the forums, I think @Keldryn might have some experience with this.

I'm creating a RPG Third Person style. Any advice or experience would be greatly appreciated. I'm thinking about using ORK for all the usual RPG elements, and use Ootii for Spellcasting, Archery and Hit detection etc. Do you think it wold work well that way?

I'm assuming adding ORK Damage Dealers and Damage Zones will tie it into ORK's systems for calculating damage?

Thanks!
  • @Vog - Yeah, that would be me. :-) I have some pretty in-depth experience with this.

I didn't end up using ORK Damage Dealers for the weapons and spells. For weapons, I created a customized Damage Reactor (that goes on the Actor Core) that more or less duplicates how a Damage Dealer inflicts damage on a Damage Zone. Keeping the DD was an unnecessary step that just made the integration more complicated than it needed to be. For spells, I created a custom node for ootii's Spell Editor that runs the Calculate() for the specified (ORK) Ability.

I created a demo with a small but "complete" gameplay loop, and I'm in the process of cleaning up and refactoring my custom libraries and integration code, so I don't want to share all of that publicly until it's in a more releasable state -- it would be a nightmare to provide support for it. I also don't want to make any promises that I may not deliver on because I change my mind about how I want to approach things (sorry, ORKsive fans). So at least in the short term, we can talk about the details via PM.

The primary issue that I struggled with was AI. I was never able to get the AI Combatants moving the way I wanted them to with the built-in Move AI. Most likely, I'll end up using NodeCanvas in place of both Battle AI and Move AI.