edited November 2013 in ORK Support
(A very very very beginner question)
Hey GiL, I'm just starting to dig into HUD and GUI, so I'm a complete beginner in this section. For my learning purposes, I'm trying to create a situation of when I press Y, a GUI box will appear saying "Pause" and freezing the game.

I went into the HUDs section and create a new HUD call Pause. In the HUD setting, for the GUI Box section, I put in the Main Menu GUI (for testing purposes). I enable the "Use Toggle Key" and put in Y (I created an Input key call Y with the keycode of Y). I enable "Yes" in the Game Paused State. I thought this was enough to make it work, but apparently I fail big time.
Do you know what went wrong?
Post edited by gamingislove on
  • edited November 2013
    You need to set up the pause key in the Game Controls - that's what triggers pause.
    The HUD doesn't need the toggle key for this, it's only a key to toggle the HUD visible or not (and it also needs to be visible due to it's display conditions). The Game Paused game state needs to be set to Yes, the rest is best set to Ignore.
    Post edited by gamingislove on
    Please consider rating/reviewing my products on the Asset Store (hopefully positively), as that helps tremendously with getting found.
    If you're enjoying my products, updates and support, please consider supporting me on patreon.com!
  • I did what you said.
    I set up the pause key and enable the freeze pause box. After that I set the rest of the game state to ignore, and pause to Yes. It won't work either. Do I have to do something to my pause HUD?
  • Are you sure you disabled the toggle key in the HUD?
    Please consider rating/reviewing my products on the Asset Store (hopefully positively), as that helps tremendously with getting found.
    If you're enjoying my products, updates and support, please consider supporting me on patreon.com!
  • edited November 2013