I know a couple of folks here use Ootii's Camera Controller and his Motion Controller packages to replace ORK's built-in solution and I've heard good things so I grabbed the Camera Controller on sale over the weekend.

I tried to integrate it with ORK but it requires grabbing a transform from the player GameObject as an anchor. ORK instantiates the player from a prefab and the CC of course can't find it. He posted a couple of lines for finding the "Player" tag and they work if placed in Update() of a script attached to the Camera Controller but not Start().

GameObject lPlayer = GameObject.FindGameObjectWithTag("Player");
CameraController lCameraRig = Component.FindObjectOfType();
lCameraRig.Anchor = lPlayer.transform;

Should this be a coroutine in Start()? Since I'm new to coding I need some tips on where/how to place this.
  • Are you using Motion Controller as well or just the Camera Controller? If you're using MC, then you should just be able to leave the Anchor field empty and then MC will find the Camera Rig (assuming "Find" is checked) once the player prefab is instantiated.

But I'm going to assume you aren't. :-)

This code doesn't work in Start() because ORK won't have spawned the player yet when the CameraController runs its Start() method. So you'll need to wait for the player to spawn.

If you attach this script to your CameraController, it should do the trick:

using UnityEngine;
    using System.Collections;
    using com.ootii.Cameras;

[RequireComponent(typeof(CameraController))]
    public class CameraRigBridge : MonoBehaviour
    {
    private GameObject mPlayer;
    private CameraController mCameraController;

private void Start()
    {
    mCameraController = GetComponent<CameraController>();
    StartCoroutine(FindPlayer());
    }

private IEnumerator FindPlayer()
    {
    do
    {
    mPlayer = GameObject.FindGameObjectWithTag("Player");
    yield return null;
    } while (mPlayer == null);

mCameraController.Anchor = mPlayer.transform;