I'm making a game with a grid-based battle system, and working on the initial setup and prototyping. I'm planning on having ways of changing the grid during play, from things like using a key on a door tile to remove it (turning it into a regular passable tile), to a terraformer class with limited ability to change cell types (eg, regular land to a mountain, to make a choke point). How would I set something like that up? I see a Check Grid Cell Type node in the events, but I haven't found anything that would let me set the grid cell type.

Also, if I have a prefab for a combatant class, how might I change the color of a child object on it to indicate what faction it belongs to? Right now I have separate prefabs for player and enemy units, with only the material changed, and separate combatant entries, but it would certainly be more efficient to just change the color depending on faction.

Thanks in advance! I'm really glad that I found this. I've learned some programming over time, but I'm primarily a designer, and it's really a breath of fresh air to have a tool kit like this.
  • Use temporary cell events, but remember that you need to use Store Grid Cells node around the target cell to be able to use Battle Cell Templates. You can add to your ability animation a second event that would spawn prefabs on cells that use the same key as a given temporary cell event.

In the moving or action costs for a cell have a formula, at the start of formula check for boolean variable (that would be activated by a switch*), if it's false then set costs to some astronomical number, if true then proceed with your formula normally.

*Or in cases of abilities use object variables on cells and have ability switch object variable on selected keys.
  • Thanks for the help. I hadn't thought of approaching it like that.
  • Yeah, cell types can currently not be changed in a running game. Might be something coming in future updates, though :)