Hello all,

I've been using ORK for a few months and have made great progress on my game prototype without writing any C# yet.

In my game, the Hit Chance & Crit Chance are replaced by a hit bar challenge (See image link below)
https://francis-calimacil.tinytake.com/tt/NTA4MTI4OV8xNTk2MTg2MQ
  • White = Miss
  • Orange = Base hit chance % or the attack
  • Red = 100% hit chance + Critical
  • Blue = Miss
I use many "Wait for input" to match each color range and I disable the "Hit Line" animation to make it stop.

Here is my event for this attack : https://francis-calimacil.tinytake.com/tt/NTA4MTI5MF8xNTk2MTg3Nw

While it works perfectly for this basic attack, it is not going to work for more complex attacks like combos or attacks with multiple keys to input.

So my question is : What would be the best way to do this by using the final "Hit Line" position instead of doing it with time?

From my understanding, I'd have to get the "Hit Line" X transform position after the animation is stopped, somehow get that number back in the event and check if the result is a Miss, Hit or Crit.

So far, the only thing I can think of is a disabled by default C# script that would store the X position in a Game variable when activated by the event system and then use that Game Variable later in the event... but I am not sure how to actually do any of this.

Thanks a lot for any help you can provide. I hope to be able to help others as well when I get better.
  • I think the easiest way is to just do a single Wait For Input node with the total time available for button press and do the rest via the time it took to press the button (using float variables).