edited February 2016 in General Discussion
Update: Feb 3, 2015

The tilt has now officially ended, and I have sent the combined payment off to GamingIsLove! A huge, huge thank you to everybody who contributed towards this project. We couldn't have done it without you.

-Alex

------------------------------------

Hello everyone!

This thread is for discussing the commission and implementation of a grid-based battle system à la Final Fantasy Tactics, Tactics Ogre, Fire Emblem, and Fallout in ORK.

If you would like to see this feature become a reality, please contribute here:
https://www.tilt.com/tilts/grid-battle-system-for-the-ork-framework
(You can contribute even if your country isn't specified, that list is for only people running a Tilt!)

Over the past month or so, I've taken the role of representative from the previous thread, which can be found here.

I'm a professional game designer myself, and used my experience to write up a design document clarifying how each feature should work, and also adding lots of features that I felt were missing in the original proposal, which you can read here. (Keep in mind that this is not a final feature list but a good read if you would like a more comprehensive idea of what the feature would work in relation to the feature notes below and how it will function.)

GiL and I spoke about how to implement each requested feature in said doc, and here is a quick (hah!) summary of the finalized features that the base implementation of the Grid Battle System would bring:

The grid battle system will be available for all battle types, i.e. if there's a grid in the scene, battles will use them (unless set to not use a grid).

Development time 1-2 months

Grid Settings

- New grid settings, either in the Battle Settings or in a new grid settings sub-section in the Battle System section.

- Cell size (e.g. 1 for 1 world unit) would define the distance between the cells.

- Grid type: Support for square and hexagonal grids.