Hello dear community,

I'm a game design student from germany and recently bought ORK.
Right now I'm in the process of learning the framework and damn, it got so many features!

Since I am a big fan of old turn-based JRPGs I want to recreate Legend of Legaia's battle system with some modern touch ups.

https://youtu.be/ASlxMEvcbCQ?t=43s

While I am still sifting through the basics maybe the more experienced would be so kind to give me some leads? Is it even possible as of now?

Any help is deeply appreciated!
  • Should be easy to do, you just use the turn based system with the combo feature.
  • Not the action combo system, that's for something different (replacing actions based on an action chain).

Since this is just selecting different actions, you'd probably go with using the Actions Per Turn to allow performing multiple actions in the combatant's turn.
    Please consider rating/reviewing my products on the Asset Store (hopefully positively), as that helps tremendously with getting found.
    If you're enjoying my products, updates and support, please consider supporting me on patreon.com!
  • Thanks alot! Can't wait to get my hands dirty :D
  • edited December 2017
    Tip: Custom Action Points System

You’re not limited to just using the actions per turn in the way described in this tutorial – you can e.g. use it to create a custom action points system. For this, you can let the Actions Per Turn at 1 (Value) and set the Default Action Cost to 0 (Value).

Now, the combatants can perform as many actions per turn as they want, until they use the End battle command (or None action in the battle AI). To limit the actions available to a combatant, you use the Use Costs of the abilities, e.g. using a Consumable type status value like MP or AP (action points) that can be replentished each turn through the Turn Bonuses (defined in the settings of the used battle system).