Hi im new to ORK, and im having diffuculty in making ORK work. Im feel lost, i've been looking into the website's tutorials and they look like simple terms and definitions and concepts only. Im currently stuck on how to make a grid. So, I attached a BattleGridComponent to an empty gameObject. I also attached a BattleComponent to another gameObject. My understanding of what I've read on the tutorials is that I should call BattleComponent.StartBattle(bool), but i dont know how to expose the BattleComponent variable. Can't make it public and be seen in the editor, can't call GetComponent(), showing an error that " GetComponent requires that the requested component 'Battle' derives from MonoBehaviour or Component or is an interface.
UnityEngine.Component.GetComponent[Battle] ()" .. I dont undertand what's wrong

Animator animator = this.GetComponent();
animator.SetTrigger("test");
Battle test1 = GetComponent();
test1.StartBattle(false);

// animator executes correctly
// error on line GetComponent(); displays error message above
  • I'd recommend going through the game tutorials to learn all the basics, e.g. how battles are usually started. Also, the grid battle tutorials are a must if you want to do grid battles.

As for your issue, the Battle class isn't a component - I think you're looking for the BattleComponent, which is used for setting up battles in your scenes.
    Please consider rating/reviewing my products on the Asset Store (hopefully positively), as that helps tremendously with getting found.
    If you're enjoying my products, updates and support, please consider supporting me on patreon.com!
  • Thanks.. i have some concerns:

1. so one of my initial points, which is if there are sample projects, there's none?
    2. the reason why im looking for a sample project is because the tutorials are so many and lengthy..

Yeah it is a BattleComponent i was needing, so now i have 3 scripts on my scene
    1. BattleComponent
    2. BattleGridComponent