Hello everyone! I'm brand new to Ork but I've been a professional Unity developer for 2.5 years as an artist. I'm working on prototyping a game idea I have and am unsure of how to set up the primary mechanics. I don't need step by step guidance, just a starting point and any wise words you may have for me -- many thanks in advance for your time!

My game is a real-time controller based hack and slash in which combat will run off of 2 primary systems: morale and momentum.

The morale meter will replace the player health bar and will fill and deplete based on player's successful weapon attacks by and to the player. This is the primary mechanic of the morale system.

The momentum meter is similar to the morale meter except that it will fill via successful weapon combos and enemy kills, but will decay over time. This meter will unlock learned elemental magic skills based on percentile thresholds as well as provide bonuses to stats, abilities.

Both of these mechanics will also be balanced by an endurance meter that depletes with player combat effort and rejuvenates when not fighting.

Originally I thought I could run these through the status section of the framework, but it doesn't seem like that's the right way to go after diving into it. Is there any advice as to where I should begin?
  • Actually it looks like I've answered my own question by starting the small game tutorial. I'll report back if I still have questions after I get through this. Thanks so much and I'm really excited to dive into Ork!