PREAMBLE
Ok. I'm a noob. Sorry. Working on it.

I'm going through the Ork tutorials fine, but my focus is 2D, so I thought I'd restart it and modify scenes to 2D and still try to move through them solving for 2D where I can.

I know the BrownPants character provided is set up with 3D movement which doesn't translate to 2d, so I know I'm going to have to set up a custom controller.

I set the player control type to "None" and set up a custom Control to reference a simple movement C# script I made instead, which is clunky but works for now.

Best case scenario, I'd like to use the controls from another unity extension "Topdown Engine" (by the corgi engine folks.) I've tried referencing their controller scripts instead but haven't gotten any to magically work out of the box yet, though I understand it just uses the native unity InputManager (not the newer input system.)

QUESTION
Is there a way I could I set up a custom controller to link directly to the Unity InputManager? That might work.

I know there are ORK 'Input Keys' which I can define the input origin to be from the Unity Input Manager from the dropdown list, but I don't know how I set up that functionality on a player controller. Maybe I just need to study it all further, I'm getting lost in a variety of control/map/key nomenclatures.

Any and all help is really appreciated.
Cheers
  • Are you trying to do a Legend of Zelda system for real time combat or some other system?

Reason why I am asking I am doing a 2D Metroidvania Platformer and currently having a lot of success with a custom character controller so might be able to help you out here.