Hello,

Apologies, this is probably a super simple thing to do. I'm new to Unity in general. I've been doing the ORK Framework tutorial bit by bit, then applying what I've learned into a top-down 2D project using both ORK and Makinom.

I have made a 2D character controller with Makinom that moves my player sprite right, left, up and down. My sprite is a simple fish with 4 sprites. I have a right, left, up and down facing sprite. Default is right sprite and the character moves perfectly. All I want to accomplish is to change the sprite to match whichever of the 4 directions it's facing and leave the most recent facing sprite when the character isn't moving.

Can I do this in my Makinom player controller? Or should I make a different schematic? I have 1-frame animations built in my project for each of the facing directions, but not sure how to apply them when moving a certain direction.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!
  • You can either do that directly in your control schematic or use a 2nd schematic that just monitors the game object's state and plays the relevant animation.

For a simple solution, just add playing those animations (after having them set up in Mecanim or legacy animation system) when moving into a direction.

In case you want to add more animations later down the line, it could be a good idea to create a 2nd schematic that only handles the animations and keep control and animation separate.
    Please consider rating/reviewing my products on the Asset Store (hopefully positively), as that helps tremendously with getting found.
    If you're enjoying my products, updates and support, please consider supporting me on patreon.com!
  • Thanks so much for the response and advice!