edited December 2014 in ORK Scripting
Hi all

I am really enjoying ORK but have come across a bit of a blocker that has got me scratching my head. I am currently prototyping up a game that combines collectible trading cards with an RPG. I have my own uGUI dialogue with drag and drop cards. These then add appropriate combatants when we click accept which is all working nicely.

However, what i want to do is also start a battle via code when we click accept but cannot seem to work that out from the API (I am still a bit of a beginner when it comes to c# so apologies!). I have a game object with a battle component attached in the scene that I can trigger fine with the ORK event system but not my code.

If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be great.

cheers
Matt
Post edited by mattratcliffe on
  • edited December 2014
    Welcome to the forum. That's a wonderful idea. I could swear I found a question here before about starting a battle from a script but can't find it right now. Is this turn-based battle system or other type?

I'm sure Gil can give you some pointers.
    Post edited by Catacomber on
  • Hi Catacomber

Thanks for the warm welcome :) .

It is a turn based battle that I want to trigger. I have drilled down to the gameobject with the battle component:
    public GameObject battleObject1;
    BattleComponent battlecomponent1;

And tried to start the event via the StartEvent function but to no avail:

battlecomponent1 = battleObject1.GetComponent<BattleComponent>();
    battlecomponent1.StartEvent(simpleStart);

If there is another method I need to trigger, or separate class I can't seem to work it out.

I have also taken a look at the battle class:

Battle battle1;

battle1.StartBattle(false);