Before I purchased (or even knew of ORK) I built a scene, castle rooms/halls.
Spent time on a door, went with a raycast from player (interactscript) on E press it would activate the door using a simple DoorScript to rotate open if tagged as Door. Worked perfect, copied that entire door (Parent/child etc) and uplaced on my other door frames. No problems. Even had sound! (I have never coded before this last month so yes, YAY! me!)
Enter ORK...Went through most of the tutorials, up to the hunting enemies part and decided to try to add a player to my game.
I deleted everything but the dungeon itself (all character prefabs etc...)
Got it to spawn my prefab (Royal Knight from asset store), modified his prefab animations, he now runs down the halls, YAY!
Read up and added a custom controller and selected my interact script, checked add component, tested.
My first door opened perfect! Ran to my second door, nothing, I checked all settings, it is set up exactly as the one that does work, none of the doors work other than that first one. The first one opens, and closes on E press but none of the others.
The other ones that do not work, I have an OPEN box checkbox in the inspector, when I hit PLAY, and check that box, the door opens, so I know the script is fine.

Any ideas?

(I do love ORK, makes it a bit easier to accomplish something for someone that has never coded anything. Thanks!)
  • edited November 2015
    So your basic problem is that your script on your player that checks doors and whether to open them or not doesn't work after the first door?

The new version of Unity has a different way of handling tags. Is there some way you can tag the doors differently? I don't know which version of Unity you're using and whether that's part of your problem. Is everything tagged right?

Do you need to make a different tag and addition to your script for each door?

Or don't I understand what the problem is?
    Post edited by Catacomber on