Greetings,

I'm working on a conversation event that eventually leads to battle with the NPC in the conversation using the Start Battle event node at the end of the Game Event. I can get the event to work just fine IF the event is set to AutoStart. If I set the event to Trigger Enter with a sphere collider, the battle event does not work. Conversation works fine, NPCs spawn. But nothing happens after that, the event just ends after the conversation. There is however a 'dummy' battle event created in the scene Hierarchy. But it does not do anything. It's named _Battle and has the battle spots etc.. Almost like the event didn't know what to do so it made a place holder? Not sure there :)

The way I have the event's game object set up in the scene is as follows:

I have an empty GameObject with an Event Interaction component with the ORK game event file set and set to AutoStart at the moment. Secondly I have a Combatant Spawner component to spawn my NPCs set to AutoStart. And lastly I have added the Battle Component. Like I said, it works great with AutoStart but not using a Trigger Enter.

Thanks once again :)
  • On what game object are you starting the battle? Also, are there any conditions on the components (e.g. one that would lead to the battle object being destroyed)?
    Please consider rating/reviewing my products on the Asset Store (hopefully positively), as that helps tremendously with getting found.
    If you're enjoying my products, updates and support, please consider supporting me on patreon.com!
  • The Event Interaction event has the Start Battle node in it.

Everything is on one GameObject: The Event Interaction component, the Combatant Spawner component, and the Battle Component.

All of them, under Variable Settings > General Condition Settings do have Auto Destroy enabled by default. I've tired disabling Auto Destroy on the all of the components and that didn't make any difference. I hope that info. helps :)