• Most of the things in Unity (and ORK) depend on frames. What's your use case that you'd need more in regards to the ATB timebar?
    Please consider rating/reviewing my products on the Asset Store (hopefully positively), as that helps tremendously with getting found.
    If you're enjoying my products, updates and support, please consider supporting me on patreon.com!
  • It's hard to explain, I'd need more ticks per seconds. Let me try :

So let's say the max time bar is 250 and there's 25 ticks per seconds (the maximum). I have a combatant who is a world class athlete, his speed is 10, so it takes him 1 sec to have his turn. So if he met a superhuman with a speed of 20, that would still work, the superhuman would take his turn every 0.5 sec.

But the thing is I'm not just making a game, I'm making a combat engine for many games, so it has to be flexible and have little limitations. So what if my combatant meets a robot with a speed of 300? Essentially the maximum speed is 250, because a single tick would give 250 to the timebar. Even a speed of 126 starts to break, because there's no difference between speed 126 and 249, they just take 2 ticks.

And since there are real time elements in my system, I can't just trick it by making the maximum time bar higher, because then everything will slow down. But if I could set it to like 1000 ticks per seconds, then the maximum speed of a combatant would be 40 times higher, without having to change the pace of the game.
  • Hm ... well, even if you could do that, it wouldn't make much difference. The actions are also bound to frames (and updated by them), as are most other things in Unity/ORK.

I think you should use the real time battle system. You can make a custom timebar using a status value (consumable + max value) and the Status Value Time Changes in the combatant's settings.
    Please consider rating/reviewing my products on the Asset Store (hopefully positively), as that helps tremendously with getting found.