I'm new to ORK. I want to extend Combatant with some custom fields and behavior, and I'm wondering what's the best way to do this. For example, I want to store a field specifying which move speed type the combatant is currently using. I think I can use the local object variables for this, but then I need to add this variable to every single combatant I'm creating. This isn't great if I decide to add a new field after creating a hundred combatants, as I need to manually add the new variable to each existing combatant.

I'm thus thinking about adding a custom class to store these extra fields, and I'm wondering if this is the right way to go.
  • Well, it depends on the use case, e.g. if your custom fields are used in ORK's systems (e.g. events, formulas or battle AI), using object variables of the combatants is the best way to go. If they're only used in custom functionality outside of ORK, you can stick to custom components on the combatant's prefab.

You can also blend them together, though. E.g. have a custom component on the prefabs and use it to set some default object variables on the combatant.
    Check out this how-to on getting a game object's combatant. Once you've got the combatant, you can change the combatant's object variables like this:
    combatant.Variables.Set(key, value);
    key is a string, containing the variable key (e.g. moveSpeedType).
    value can be a bool, float, string and Vector3 value you want to use.

There are also other functions available in the variable handler you access via combatant.Variables. And you don't even have to set up object variables in the combatant, as accessing it like this will automatically create variables on the combatant.
    Please consider rating/reviewing my products on the Asset Store (hopefully positively), as that helps tremendously with getting found.
    If you're enjoying my products, updates and support, please consider supporting me on patreon.com!
  • edited December 2020