Hey I'm very new to Ork and absolutely loving how customizable everything is. I'd like to make a game similar to Final Fantasy Tactics. I've been going through the initial tutorials, especially the Grid Battles Gameplay tutorial, which have been very useful. While the tutorial didn't cover it vertical height, it looks like that is an option to set that, which is fantastic as that is one of the biggest features I was looking for! The other big feature that I'd like to implement is horizontal jumping. What I mean by that is say you had a small stream and if a character had a high enough jump they could just jump over it, whereas a character with a limited jump would be forced to walk through it, costing double movement points. Here's a link to a gif I made showing one of the characters jumping over swampy tiles if my explanation was a bit confusing.

https://makeagif.com/i/DpFwgy

Is there any way to implement this with Ork? I was thinking of maybe setting custom grid path links from one cell to another that can be jumped to via the Grid Setup connections, but it looks like there isn't a way to add additional connections that I can see, just remove them :/ Also I'd need a way to limit that connection to people with a high enough jump stat, which I'm not sure if connections allow.
  • That can all be implemented via the grid move event. You just have to do all kinds of checks - e.g. checking the combatant's current position vs next cell's position for heigh differences (Check Height Differences node) or check the cell's type (Check Grid Cell Type node) and move according to that.

So, jumping up/down - next cell is higher or lower.
    Jumping over river - next cell is a 'river' type cell, so you get the next cell until you get a non-river cell and directly jump there, etc.
    Please consider rating/reviewing my products on the Asset Store (hopefully positively), as that helps tremendously with getting found.