edited December 2021 in ORK Support
I'm trying to create a formula that emulates a dice roll and I'm struggling a bit. Formula's are really powerful, but I'm not a coder so some of the options don't make full sense to me yet.

The idea:

A status value is the number of d10's being rolled. I.E Strength of 4 means 4d10. The value of each dice rolled is added together. That tally is then compared to the targets defense (a separate formula), and if higher then roll is successful.

Additionally, rolling a 1 gives a Negative Status Effect, and a 10 gives a Positive Status Effect. These effects statck and can be used to fuel abilities or hinder.

Currently my formula idea is:

I know change Variables is a key part of it, but I'm still a bit fuzzy on how to use it properly.

I just feel like I'm going about this the hard/wrong way.
Post edited by Solkyoshiro on
Currently making: Real-Time Diablo-like ARPG
  • edited December 2021
    Trying this arrangement currently. One thing I'm trying to figure out is how to add on a Status Effect as part of a formula, or can you not?

https://imgur.com/a/889zdQ0
  • edited December 2021
    Okay, I believe I understand what you're asking. You should definitely be using a variable for this formula, specifically, a Local Variable. You can think of variables as folders that hold information. Instead of accessing the information directly, you access the variable and it tells you the information inside it. For example, a variable called "Name" can hold "string" of "Bob". You can use "Name" instead of "Bob" for dialogue, and if you ever wanted to change Bob's name, you just have to change the variable "Name" and it will be updated every where the variable(global) is used. In this case, we will use a local variable since we only need this value in this schematic. This is how you would set it up.

-Start a Loop with a max count based on your d10 status value. The variable counter can be named what ever you want since it won't be needed here.