Hi!

I've been playing a lot with Ork lately, and it's really fantastic but at the moment, I am overwhelmed with everything there is to learn. I'm a good game designer and a decent artist, but I'm no coder.

So I apologize in advance if these questions seem trivial, but I'd just like to know whether I should push in that direction with Ork 3 or not.

I'd like to create a 3D game with sprite characters (like Paper Mario, Disgaea, Octopath Traveler, etc.). The battle system will use the grid system in an isometric view.

I have a few questions regarding the feasibility of this idea with Ork.

(I don't expect full tutorials for answers, I'd just like to know the advice from a professional if this is feasible or not before I sink hundreds of hours just to prototype):

1- With Ork, are there major obstacles to use 2D sprites characters instead of 3D models in a 3D environment?

2- For basic character movement (idle, walk, battle animations, etc.), do I need a custom script to make it happen? I plan to have characters sprites face in 8 directions on the map, and probably the 4 diagonals during battle (because of the isometric view). (From what I've read in the tutorials, the answer is yes, but I just wanted to make sure.)

3- If so, I have found this asset on the Unity Asset Store that could help me setup the characters animations and also movement control:

https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/tools/sprite-management/spriteman-3d-47367#description
http://spriteman3d.punksterinc.com/Help/html/63e6d77f-c0e2-4468-99c1-ba9ba4ac78e7.htm

Sprite Man 3D might help me with setting up the mecanim animations and handle the controls. Is there any chance I could create with Sprite Man 3D something compatible with Ork? Or is there something better for Ork?