I'm working on a 2D game and my world features a lot of NPCs. I'm new to ORK, so I'm not trying to do anything complicated right now. But I want to make my workflow as efficient as I can for now.

For creating an NPC template, would it be best to create a prefab instead of duplicating NPC game objects? If so, what would be the best way to set up a simple NPC prefab in ORK 3? Is it as simple as creating a game object, giving it a sprite render component, a box collider, an animator, a move AI (to allow it to move), and then an interaction machine? Am I missing anything else?

Alternately, because NPCs tend to be so different and varied, is there really any advantage to using a prefab instead of just making copies of game objects?
Agender, curry fan, Top 10 lister, indie dev, gym hitter, musician, et al.
  • I think it largely depends on what you want the NPCs to do. For example, if they will be static and just repeat dialogue / be a shop keep then you could just make them be basic game objects with an Interaction Machine component and the associated schematic. You wouldn't need to set them up in ORK at all really in that situation.

Prefabs are nice with the (somewhat) new variant feature if you're going to have a lot of shared behavior or components even if you don't use that same prefab multiple times. In my project, I have a "Player Combatant Base" prefab and then each player combatant prefab is a variant prefab of that. While I will only have 1 of each combatant ever instantiated, any changes I make to the Player Combatant Base prefab will then propagate to each of my player combatants as well. This base is where I dump all of my components like player control, nav mesh, etc.

Currently the only real difference for example is just the character mesh.

If I just created duplicate objects, any time I wanted to make a sweeping NPC change, I'd need to do it to every single object and introduce the possibility of making issues.

Hopefully that makes sense!