edited May 2023 in ORK Support
Hello, i am trying to work out abilities in menu screens.
I am not sure i understand correctly how it's supposed to work, hope i can get more clarity here.

To sum up the overall mechanic we're trying to reach : when in combat i have a group of combatants, the player choses a combatant, this combatant has abilities, the player can click on a ability which will take effect immediately (an attack for example).

First attempt : using shortcuts works fine, but we feel limited with the fact that the buttons on shortcut can't be prefabs (or did we miss this option?)

Second attempt : using a menu screen with a menu part "Ability" : the abilities are displaying, the buttons are now prefabs... but : these buttons refuse to be activated. When looking in the hierarchy we can see clearly the buttons are disabled and forever stay disabled so the abilities can't be used.

Question 1 :
Is it actually possible to obtain the same behavior with shortcuts and menu screens for abilities (on the mechanic aspect)?
If yes, what are we missing in the options that would allow the prefab buttons to activate therefore be usable?
(we have actually used those same prefabs for another screen menu but with inventory items so the behavior is a little different but works as expected)

Question 2 :
Should we go back to first attempt with shortcuts? Did we miss an option that would allow to replace the default buttons with a prefab for this type of display?

Thank you for any answer.
Post edited by AnneLaure on
  • Menu screens are only used for field-use, i.e. they only use abilities or items that are useable in the field and target allies (i.e. the menu user's group). So, for battle action selection, you should use the battle menu, or a shortcut HUD, control maps, etc.
    The shortcuts in battle menus can use a button prefab, though.

1) Shortcut HUDs, no, shortcuts in battle menus, yes.