Hello whilst i do not own personally ork, i'm thinking about buying it since it will decrease time on development, but my questions is how easy is to integrate those two assets with ORK (Although i do not own ork i believe it has it's own gui system so i would prefer to change it into ngui). Also as second question (or third) i want to know how easy is to modify engine to have rpg system similar to D&D, I ask because whilst i have some experience with rpg maker and the task to modify rules of gameplay to something like D&D is not easy accomplished since we require to basically change every script into our own, so easier is just to develop game from scratch.
  • edited February 2016
    If your talking about the formulas of D&D then its easy enough. There is a tutorials here showing how that works:
    http://orkframework.com/tutorial/game-tutorial/11-formulas/

I'm not a coder so I cannot provide insight into the NGUI stuff but the built in GUI (I prefer legacy over the new) in ORK is very versatile. GiL has done a bloody amazing job making it as flexible as it is.

To be honest originally I wanted to use NGUI as well. But threw it out once I saw how much easier ORK was.
    Perhaps a coder or GiL can comment on NGUI's usage with ORK
    Post edited by paulgswanson on
  • I'm with paulgswanson, I originally was going to use Ngui but since the new Unity GUI came out, and with ORK's versatility, Ngui has been gathering dust in my Asset Store stash for a long time.
    dullman, why don't you download the ORK Framework Demo, and go thru a few of the gameplay tutorials and see if it can do what you want. I think a D&D style system is certainly possible using the ORK formula and event system. Someone here who is more familiar with the formula system can probably chime in, since the dice rolls in D&D vary from 1D4 and up in the chance calculations and etc..

Grab the ORK Demo - orkframework.com/download/
    I'm old and mean...hiss~hiss~
    Chris
  • edited February 2016