I'm trying to do some basic code testing here with the new UI and Makinom.

(On UI button click, start schematic) is what I want to accomplish.

This is how I picture it being set up, but this does not work.
using UnityEngine;
using Makinom;
using UnityEngine.UI;
using System.Collections;

public class ClickExample : MonoBehaviour
{
public Button yourButton;
public MakinomSchematicAsset schematicAsset; //define schematic

void Start()
{
Schematic schematic = new Schematic(this.schematicAsset); //load schematic
Button btn = yourButton.GetComponent<Button>();
btn.onClick.AddListener(TaskOnClick);
}

void TaskOnClick()
{
Debug.Log("You have clicked the button!");
schematic.PlaySchematic(null, machineObject, startObject, false, MachineUpdateType.Update); //execute schematic
}
}
I'm familiar with doing things in just Makinom, but I'm new to coding with Makinom so any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
-Nate =]
Portfolio - My Website
Follow my project on Reddit - My Game DevLog
relentingVids - My YouTube Channel
Half Super Shop - My Shop
  • AFAIK this can be done using an interaction machine component within Makinom.
    It has the capabilities to initialize the local variables of the schematic it starts to defined values.
    I see you'd wish to do this in raw code instead, however I'd like to know what the advantages are in coding it versus utilizing an interaction machine (Setting them in the machine allows reusing the schematic with different start variables, doing different things or behaving differently.) Is it because you'd wish to have minimal bloat at runtime?

Will Makinom discard unused code from machines during a build, else include everything when compiled even though its not fully in use resulting in bloated code?
  • The best machine to use with events coming from new UI components (e.g. a button) would be the animation machine, which e.g. has the UI game object start type, but you can also use any of the animation event start types.