Hi,

I'm trying to build an RPG game with ORK where you can leave the game and come back a day or more later and the game will simulate the time that has passed and AI behaviors that happened while you were gone. When you log back into the game, I want it to load and simulate the time that has passed based on the amount of time since your last log in. Is there a way to do a turn/tick-based system for ORK so that I can simulate speeding through a bunch of ticks to simulate time passing rapidly? I don't know that I can use Unity's timeScale variable as it seems to only go up to 100x. I don't have any physics in the game simulation so if I can do it with ORK would be ideal. The tick rate can also be very low like 2 ticks per second where the game only checks characters' move or attack 2x per second as it's a slow paced asynchronous game design. I'm new to ORK and I know there's a turn-based battle system so I'm wondering if I can do something similar for everything in ORK where essentially the game update is real-time tick-based and I can fast forward through a bunch of ticks in a short loading screen.

I have a playback system so you can scrub back through a replay of the game states in the past, but I'm struggling with actually simulating a massive passage of time like a few days.
  • I may be able to just run the game loop for everything in a custom fixed update like this http://wiki.unity3d.com/index.php/CustomFixedUpdate
  • I'm a bit confused on how to edit the code for ORK would I have to use the API to change how updates work in AI scripts?
  • Maybe I could use ORK.Game to increase time speed and simulate it that way.
  • The turn based battle's progress is mainly relying on the actions that are used. I.e. there isn't really a tick going on increasing the turns, etc. - it's start turn > combatant selects action > use action > next combatant, ... (naturally, depending on the used setup there are differences here).