I have a grid-based battle. I want the grid to only appear around combatants, with an alpha fade in a range around them so that the grid appears to fade away from each combatant. I've been trying various ideas for a couple of days now without really getting anywhere - any suggestions as to how that might be implemented?

Thx :)
  • Individual grid cells are game objects with the cell prefabs spawned on them - so there should be a way to achieve that.

I'm not really a shader expert, but there's probably something that can fade out stuff around a game object, so placing that on a combatant could be used to fade out the cells around.

Alternatively, you can do this via schematics:
    - have your cell prefabs be fully transparent by default
    - use a turn start schematic to get cells around the combatant (Select Grid Cells node) and change their color (Change Color node)
    - fade out again in a turn end schematic
    This'd probably need more refinement, e.g. also doing this in grid move schematic to remove the correct cells again.
    Please consider rating/reviewing my products on the Asset Store (hopefully positively), as that helps tremendously with getting found.
    If you're enjoying my products, updates and support, please consider supporting me on patreon.com!
  • Cool, many thx for the reply - a couple more ideas to try out now! :)
  • edited September 2022
    So still struggling to get anywhere with this...

I think the core problem is that I can't find a way to get to the cell prefabs (since that's where I would want to change the color). I have the cell GameObjects - all the children of the Battle Grid. But the only components those have are their Transform and Battle Grid Cell Component.