Howdy! This is my first attempt at a 2D game, so I might just be doing something wrong. Any idea why my character disappears when I interact with a prefab fit with an Item Collector?

My project followed the 2D grid battle tutorial first. Other interactions (like dialogue) work fine, but if I interact with a prefab (fitted with Rigidbody 2D and Box Collider 2D with "is Trigger" checked) the main character's sprite disappears. It doesn't change layers or transforms or anything -- if I check and uncheck the sprite renderer, it does not reappear. I can still move around and interact with things though. The item does not disappear and nothing is added to the player's inventory.

One thing does pop up on the Box Collider 2D: A warning that says "The collider did not create any collision shapes as they all failed verification. This could be because they were deemed too small or the vertices were too close. Vertices can also become close under certain rotations or very small scaling."
  • Check the item collector's Start Settings > Object Turn Settings. 2D games shouldn't use any of the turn options here, or your 2D sprite will be rotated and potentially not visible due to that.

Unless you're using a setup where the root of the player rotates into any direction and a child object displays the sprite. With such a setup, you can use the Face Camera component to always have the sprite be rotated toward the camera.
    Please consider rating/reviewing my products on the Asset Store (hopefully positively), as that helps tremendously with getting found.
    If you're enjoying my products, updates and support, please consider supporting me on patreon.com!
  • Thank you! The object turn settings were making the player disappear, and that's been fixed. However, it's still not collecting the item.