I have a combatant in my scene spawned with an "Add Combatant" component with "Remember Combatant" enabled. I've set up a script which autosaves the game every x seconds as well as manually at the conclusion of important events. When I load my scene, I check for the existence of an autosave file, and if it exist, I load that autosave. This approach works fine for most scenarios I've tried, but I've run into an issue with Add Combatant. When I reload the scene when an autosave is present, the "Add Combatant" will update BEFORE I load the autosave. Then when I do call the autosave the Add Combatant will not be updated. My guess is this is some sort of order of operations issue, like I need to load my autosave before the Add Combatant component initialized with the saved data first. For example if I load the autosave from a separate scene, it works fine (I suppose because the add combatant is not initialized before the autosave is loaded). Any thoughts on how I can address this issue without completely switching my approach to always starting with loader scene? For example, I don't see why when the autosave loads the Add Combatant does not update just because it has apparently updated before... shouldn't it just update again with the autosave data?

thanks,
-Mike
  • Did a quick test with saving/loading the game in the same scene and it seems to work fine.
    Can you give me details on how you handle the auto load?

Loading the game should reload the scene.
    Please consider rating/reviewing my products on the Asset Store (hopefully positively), as that helps tremendously with getting found.
    If you're enjoying my products, updates and support, please consider supporting me on patreon.com!
  • Hi - thanks for the reply.

I have my gameplay scene - this is the scene I run when I hit play and it's where I have the combatant spawned with "Add Combatant".

I have a gameobject in this scene called Autosave Controller which has my custom autosave/load script.