Hi.
Excuse me, I'm not good at English, so I use google translate.

I have a question, is it possible to trigger turn-based battles during grid battles?
In the game I'm currently working on, I'd like the player's movement on the map to be a grid like a simulation game, and the battles to be turn-based.
Is such an implementation possible by devising grid battles?

Also, regarding the growth system, is it possible to make each status level up?
It is a system that each status gains experience points by actions, and level up when experience points accumulate to a certain value.
For example, attacking gives experience points to strength.

If possible, a simple example would be very helpful for me.
Thank you.
  • In the game I'm currently working on, I'd like the player's movement on the map to be a grid like a simulation game, and the battles to be turn-based.
    Do you have an example of a game with what you're after? To me, it sounds sort of like a Mystery Dungeon setup?

In that case, what you'd probably want to do is have your movement handled through a custom controller along with environmental design. Design your maps to be a grid, and use the Battle Grid component to generate the grid (matching Tile size).

Then when outside of combat, the player controller just moves +1/-1 rather than the interpolated input of normal games. Upon contact or a certain range of enemies, you then initiate battle which moves to the Grid Turn Based system. As long as your tile sizes match, you should effectively have that same result. Another route I think you can take is one giant battle running at the start, but that might have a few hangups with AI / wait time depending on size.