edited February 2014 in ORK Support
Let's say I have a combatant that have several abilities that uses different weapons. For example, his default attack weapon is a pistol, but he has an ability that uses a rifle. When the ability finishes, the character will return to his pistol. What would be the best method in switching out weapons specificly for abilities? Would Spawn/Destroy prefab be essential for this when creating the events for the ability?
Post edited by gamingislove on
  • Interesting problem, never thought of something like this :D

For now you can work with the event system, but if you have a large amount of weapons, this could be a bit cumbersome :)
    You'd need to create three events (or two, but three would be better, a task per event).

The 1st event would check for the currently equipped weapon and set a game variable to remember which weapon is equipped (e.g. set a string variable to the weapons name, or set a float variable to the weapons index).
    You'd have to check for each weapon in your game individually (i.e. only one weapon per step) - if the check is successful, set the variable, else execute the next check.

The 2nd event would now check the inventory for the rifles - again, each individually. If the inventory contains the rifle, equip it, else check for the next rifle.

The 3rd event would finally check the previously set variable and equip the weapon according to the variable.

The 1st and 2nd step would be performed as the first two events of your ability. The 3rd event at the end.

I'll look into it and may make a feature out of this so you wouldn't have to do it this way (which can be really elaborate if you have many weapons).
    Please consider rating/reviewing my products on the Asset Store (hopefully positively), as that helps tremendously with getting found.
    If you're enjoying my products, updates and support, please consider supporting me on patreon.com!