edited July 2017 in ORK Support
Hi there,

I'm new to ORK Framework and have been playing around with it the past couple of weeks. I'm currently working on building a basic 2D top down scene with the player and an NPC who, when talked to, becomes irrationally angry and starts a battle with the player. Everything works fine, except for the fact that two instances of the NPC are spawned when the battle starts. It's notable that they're not exactly the same: one is the NPC prefab, whereas the other is a game object based off of the NPC prefab (which is what the player is talking to in the first place).

For reference, the non-prefab NPC has an event interaction component (for the dialogue event) as well as a battle component (to start the battle when a specific dialogue is chosen by the player).

I'd be happy to provide any additional information that may help solve this problem.

Thank you in advance.
Post edited by thall on
  • The battle is spawning the enemy it needs, since the NPC is not a combatant/enemy. There are multiple ways to solve that, e.g.:
    - make the NPC a combatant (e.g. in the event by using an Add Combatant node) and start the battle with the NPC instead of a battle component
    - hide the NPC game object before starting the battle

The 'natural' way would probably be to make the NPC a combatant in battle, so you could also seamlessly have it run to its battle spot, etc.
    Please consider rating/reviewing my products on the Asset Store (hopefully positively), as that helps tremendously with getting found.
    If you're enjoying my products, updates and support, please consider supporting me on patreon.com!
  • edited June 2017
    Hi GIL, thanks for your help so far.

Like you suggested, I've made the NPC a combatant by using the Add Combatant node, and once the battle scene is loaded there is now only one enemy, solving my previous problem.