edited November 2014 in General Discussion
Unity 3D and Unreal 4.5
Having to kill a project I’ve been working on (long story short the guy who help come up with the story had a falling out and the safest route was to kill the project.) put me in a weird place, that lead me to trying Unreal Engine 4.5. I know a few of you guys have been thinking of trying it out so I’ll post my experience. First my Unity 3D experience: I’ve been using Unity 3D for about 3 years and ORK was the first asset I bought.

Unreal 4 is $19, you can do $19 a month and that will get you all the fun updates or you could just pay $19 and it’s yours without the updates. They also charge 5% of your total gross for anything over 30k, that’s a lot more expensive that unity 3D.

Programing:
This being the ORK forums I’m assuming you guys are using ORK Framework. Unreal 4 uses C++ and a system called Blueprint. I don’t know C++….. but Blueprint is awesome, it would be easy for anyone who uses ORK’s event system to get a hang of Blueprint. ORK Framework overall is like Blueprint of steroids, especially if you’re thinking of doing a RPG.

Editor:
Going between Unity 3D and Unreal, it’s a bit of a learning curve. Unity feels more user friendly (not sure if that because I started in Unity or the interface is just easier), but Unreal offers a lot of nice tools not offered in Unity (without buying assets), geometry editing, texture alignments, and a lot of different lightmapping tools.

Lighting and Shaders:
This is where Unreal shines (at least when it comes unity 3d 4.6), the stock lighting is amazing, the reflection sphere/box use less GPU than Unity. Particle emitters do amazing work, Shadows are mind-blowing, Reflection are crazy good.

Overall: